>the society


The Society for Imprecise Probability: Theories and Applications (SIPTA) was created in February 2002, with the aim of promoting the research on imprecise probability. This is done through a series of activities for bringing together researchers from different groups, creating resources for information, dissemination and documentation, and making other people aware of the potential of imprecise probability models.

The Society has its roots in the Imprecise Probabilities Project conceived in 1996 by Peter Walley and Gert de Cooman and its creation has been encouraged by the success of the ISIPTA conferences.

Imprecise probability is understood in a very wide sense. It is used as a generic term to cover all mathematical models which measure chance or uncertainty without sharp numerical probabilities. It includes both qualitative (comparative probability, partial preference orderings, …) and quantitative modes (interval probabilities, belief functions, upper and lower previsions, …). Imprecise probability models are needed in inference problems where the relevant information is scarce, vague or conflicting, and in decision problems where preferences may also be incomplete.

Current Executive Committee (from 5 July 2019)

Seventh Executive Committee (13 July 2017 - 5 July 2019 )

Sixth Executive Committee (21 July 2015 - 13 July 2017)

Fifth Executive Committee (4 July 2013 - 21 July 2015)

Fourth Executive Committee (25 July 2011 - 3 July 2013)

Third Executive Committee (14 July 2009 - 24 July 2011)

  • President: Teddy Seidenfeld
  • Secretary: Erik Quaeghebeur
  • Treasurer: Enrique Miranda
  • Executive Editor: Alessandro Antonucci
  • At-large Members: Gert de Cooman, Serena Doria, Matthias Troffaes, Paolo Vicig
  • Advisory Member: Marco Zaffalon

Second Executive Committee (1 November 2006 - 13 July 2009)

  • President: Marco Zaffalon
  • Secretary: Teddy Seidenfeld
  • Treasurer: Gert de Cooman
  • Executive Editor: Alessandro Antonucci
  • At-large Members: Thomas Augustin, Fabio G. Cozman, Terrence L. Fine, Isaac Levi, Paolo Vicig

First Executive Committee (13 February 2002 - 31 October 2006)

  • President: Gert de Cooman
  • Secretary: Marco Zaffalon
  • Treasurer: Jean-Marc Bernard
  • Executive Editor: Serafin Moral
  • Newsletter Editor: Fabio G. Cozman
  • Software Section Editor: Lev V. Utkin
  • Who's Who Section Editor: Thomas Augustin
  • Bibliography Editor: Jean-Marc Bernard and Marco Zaffalon
  • Documentation Section Editor: Thomas Lukasiewicz
  • Other executive committee members: Teddy Seidenfeld, Terry Fine and Mike Smithson

Last update July 31, 2019 | webmaster